Yes, i'm a noob - Bite me.

And yes, I've read seemingly countless tutorials which explain, or, "try" to explain what a "Constructor" is. Obviously, they failed to digest in my brain.

Is there any well-to-do person in here who can help me? Is there anyone who can possibly explain in this forum or add me on msn/skype and explain over there?

Please try not to answer like this: "A constructor works by initializing the variable of instances by casting an object with polymorphic member variables who are attached to an int64 stringless thing" i.e. - less terminology as possible please =)

Any help is weally weally weally appreciated - weally.....

Kind regards,

Usmaan

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

yeah i can:) i send a priv message

A constructor is a method in a class that is called when that class is first initialized. A constructor allows you to set default values to variables and limit instantiation (among other benefits.

If a constructor is not defined in the class the CLR (Common Language Runtime) will provide an implicit one (known as a Default constructor). A class can have multiple constructors (called constructor overloading) as long as arguments are not of the same type.

Constructors:

• Can never return a value
  • Can be overloaded
  • Can be static or non-static

I wouldn't define a constructor as a method, because a constructor will NEVER return a value because there's no return type. You're gonna say, what about the void methods. 'void', 'int', 'string' or any kind of object is a return type, the difference between void and the rest is that void will simply call

return;

without any value.

To get back to the constructor, a constructor is what "construct" the class, in the programming slang, we call it 'initialization/instantiation of an object'.

The 'call' to the constructor is done when you initalize an object, which is done with a the 'new' keyword.

i.e.:

DaniWebUser user = new DaniWebUser();