Hey guys, I was wondering if any of you could help me with some stuff which may seem obvious to you but I'm a beginner.

I'm making a calculator and have reached the part where I am making the buttons change the string on the calculator's "screen".

The way I am doing this is by getting the current line of numbers as a string and then converting the number pressed into a string and then adding the two strings together to form the new calculator display, I then want to display that string.

After reading some books and looking online I thought the best way of doing this would be to use string streaming, so I have made the following:

if(ButtonType == 1) // Numerical buttons processed here
			{
				CurrentInputString = "";
				CurrentInput = 0;
				CurrentInput = ButtonNumber;
				InputOutputStream << CurrentInput;
				InputOutputStream >> CurrentInputString;
				InputOutputStream.str("");
				InputOutputStream.clear();

InputOutputStream << TotalInput;
				InputOutputStream >> TotalInputString;

InputOutputStream << TotalInputString << CurrentInputString;
				//TotalInputString += CurrentInputString;
				InputOutputStream >> TotalInput;
				InputOutputStream << TotalInput;
				InputOutputStream >> TotalInputString;
				this->InputLabel->Text = Convert::ToString(TotalInput);

}

I had problems setting the text as "TotalInputString" and got these compiler messages:

error C2664: 'void System::Windows::Forms::Control::Text::set(System::String ^)' : cannot convert parameter 1 from 'std::string' to 'System::String ^'
1> No user-defined-conversion operator available, or
1> No user-defined-conversion operator available that can perform this conversion, or the operator cannot be called