Hello, I am pretty new to C# (but I have used java)

I want to use my c# class in a c++ project, this means I will need to make a COM object, It seems reasonably easy I have been using this mainly as a template. My program was a c# dll, so I am converting it.

I have been using the c# getter and setters, for example:

public int Inlet
        {
            get
            {
                return this.inlet;
            }
            set
            {
                this.inlet = value;
            }
        }

but, this, as far as I can tell, isn't a methodor a variable, (it uses the variable inlet, but it is actually two functions "merged" into one)

I can't put it in my COM interface:

[Guid("1061ABA6-19E0-4ed2-A253-9C28D89771D7")]
    public interface IGC7890Controller
    {
        //Getters and setters
        public int Column;
        public int Inlet;

//other methods
    }

because they look like variables to the compiler and I get "error CS0525: Interfaces cannot contain fields"

Is there any way to not change all my getters and setters into specific GetFoo() and SetFoo(), am I being stupid and missing something?

Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Although a property in C# is coded in a single block the compiler creates a get_<propname> function and set_<propname> method separately.

To code a property in an interface you need to add the get and set keywords in braces.

[Guid("1061ABA6-19E0-4ed2-A253-9C28D89771D7")]
    public interface IGC7890Controller
    {
        //Getters and setters
        int Column { get; set; }
        int Inlet  { get; set; }

//other methods
    }

BTW: You also do not need the public keywords (in fact it is an error to include them).

commented: thanks for the help - its not knowing key words like "property" that makes finding answers hard! +1