Hello,

So I am just starting to really use Make files in Linux, and I am getting the following error when I try to "make":

c++ -c main.cxx
In file included from main.cxx:2:
LinkedList.h:39:26: error: LinkedList.cxx: No such file or directory
make: *** [main.o] Error 1

Here is my make file, I have no experience with make files so I am not sure now to read the error:

program2: main.o LinkedList.o
c++ -o program2 main.cxx LinkedList.cxx
main.o: main.cxx LinkedList.h
c++ -c main.cxx
LinkedList.o: LinkedList.cxx LinkedList.h
c++ -c LinkedList.cxx
clean:
rm program2 LinkedList.o main.o

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

The error is not in your makefile. It's in the file named "LinkedList.h".

ah so the way to read the error would be to say that:

the file LinkedList.cxx was never found/declared in the file LinkedList.h?

ah so the way to read the error would be to say that:

the file LinkedList.cxx was never found/declared in the file LinkedList.h?

Well, that depends on what's on line 39 in that file. Are you trying to include LinkedList.cxx?

here is the file in question

1 class LinkedList
2 {
3 private:
5 struct LL_Ele
6 {
7 int i_nt;
8 LL_Ele * next;
9 LL_Ele * pred;
10 };
12 typedef LL_Ele Link_t;
13 Link_t curr;
14 Link_t pred;
15 Link_t start;
17 public:
19 bool empty(); //written
20 int size(); //
21 void begin(); //
22 void clear(); //
23 void erase(); //
24 void pushback(int); //
25 void pushfront(int); //
26 void next(); //
27 void previous(); //
28 void insertInOrder(int); //
29 void remove(int); //
30 int data(); //
31 void insert(int); //
32 void sort(); //
33 void merge(LinkedList); //
34 int popfront(); //
35 int popback(); //
36 LinkedList(); //
37 LinkedList(const LinkedList&); //
38 };
39 #include <LinkedList.cxx>

I can guess that isn't going to work well!! You really don't need to include any cxx files in your .h files. [With the possible exceptions of some template classes but even then you should avoid it].