Hi everybody,
I am a newbie in C#.
I have a fragment code but it doesn't run.
Here is my code:

using System;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using System.Linq;
using System.Text;

namespace ConsoleApplication1
{
    class Program
    {
        static void Main(string[] args)
        {
            int number;
            string type;

number = 5;
            if (number % 2 == 1)
                type = "odd";
            else if (number % 2 == 0)
                type = "even";
            Console.WriteLine(type);
        }
    }
}

I received a error message: "Use of unassigned local variable 'type'"
But when I replace this fragment code:

type = "even";

by

else
    type = "even";

my code ran correctly.
Can you explain for me why?
Thanks for your helps.

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Hi there :) I hope you'll like C# and stick to it because it's a wonderful language to learn ^^

The problem is that you don't initialize your "type" variable (you don't give any value when you create it), this has a consequence that if you try to use it somewhere it'll cause this error. The reason why this happens is that in your if-else structure only two cases are checked, if both of these cases are false then it should go to the else statement (what you don't have), so it will simply follow the next step which is using the unassigned variable. The reason why this seems illogical is that checking a number if it's odd or even boils down to two cases, but the compiler doesn't know that, the expression will be checked in runtime only.
The code is basically correct, the compiler is just cautious and it only makes sure that no unassigned value will be used.

I hope it makes sense, if you still don't understand please feel free to ask :)

You could also simplify your if-statement.
If you know that a number is even, it can never be odd, so you could rewrite your if-statement like this:

if (number % 2 == 0)                
    type = "even";
else
    type = "odd";