Hi, I'm trying to make a program that lets a user punch in the results from a race. What I got is a loop for entering the contestants startnumber, the time they started the race (hh, mm, ss) and when they finished the race (hh, mm, ss). I'm stuck with a two parted problem (yes I know it's probably simple but I'm new to this. Because I'm new I wanna keep it really simple, just using the basic code, no arrays or functions). Part 1: how do I keep both the fastest time and startnumber in memory? Part 2: how do I convert the times (that I have in seconds) in to a readable hh : mm : ss , preferbly using modulus?
Thankfull for any help.

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

I'm not quite sure what you mean by

how do I keep both the fastest time and startnumber in memory?

Perhaps you just mean store the data for the duration of the programs execution?
The rest is just basic Math.
If you know the start and end time then you can calculate how long it took for a person to finish the race.
NB: Depending on how much data is input you may end up with a lot of variables if you avoid the use of basic data types such as arrays.
Anyway you could store the times in float variables ready to be converted to a time format.

The time calculations depend upon how you decide to measure the time taken to complete the race (e.g. seconds or minutes or hours).
NB: Again you could end up with a lot of variables that aren't required so I would suggest a struct or similar.
e.g.

typedef struct
{
    int seconds;
    int minutes;
    int hours;
} tStruct;

This is how far I've gotten. The program is in swedish so perheps I'll explain: Tim=hour, Sek= seconds, slut_Tim= end_Hour, Ange startnummer= type in startnumber, minsta_Tid = shortest_Time.
What happens here is that what ever time you put in it's always the last input that the program treats as the shortest. I guess that means that I miss to store the data. How do I store the shortest time and link it to the right startnumber?