Hi all,

I apologise for possibly asking stupid questions and/or overlooking things that I possibly should not be. I'm quite new to this C# and programming in general, but it was forced upon me at university - and after a few lessons it looks something I enjoy and would like to understand a little more.

I'm attempting to create a program which will run in the system tray, and act as a countdown to a recurring event every 36 hours. As I say, this may not be the best way to do it but - I need the countdown to update each time the computer is turned on and the program starts - a countdown to the event. My problem is, I cannot quite get my head around how to set the time it is aiming for! I've used a text file so far to set the original....

I'm at wits end trying to get this to work. I'm damn sure i'm not supposed to have those strings outside hanging around like that, but I was going to worry about it once it worked - perhaps I should just start again!!!

I'd appreciate if anyone could tell me where i'm going wrong here please, I know it's messy, bad and inefficient, but it's just a small learning thing i'm doing that would have hopefully made something useful.

// above this just sends the form down to the system tray unless the menu is used to restore or notifyIcon is dblclick'd.

String extractedNearestLeveReset; // use in all areas, STRING FROM TXT.
        String shitToPrint;
        DateTime currentLeveTimer; // DATETIME OF STRING FROM TXT.
        Int32 intToCheck;

private void Main()
        {
            LoadCurrentLeveTime();
            GetTimeString(); 
        }

private void LoadCurrentLeveTime()
        {
            StreamReader streamReader = new StreamReader(@"c:\MoogleClock\Data\NEARESTLEVERESET.TXT");
            string datetimeNextLeve = streamReader.ReadToEnd();
            streamReader.Close();
            extractedNearestLeveReset = datetimeNextLeve;