So I am fairly new to Java and I have been trying to create a simple program that reads a list of names and a number from an external text file.

So I will show you that code first.

public static void startReadFile()
    {
        // Get an ArrayList of accounts according to what is written in a file
        ArrayList<PokemonTrainer> trainerList = readFile();

// To prove we successfully read the file, print out details of the accounts
        printTrainers(trainerList);        
        updateList(trainerList);
    }

/**
     * Returns an ArrayList of accounts whose owners and balances will
     * depend on the values found in a file
     */
    public static ArrayList<PokemonTrainer> readFile()
    {
        ArrayList<PokemonTrainer> trainerList = new ArrayList<PokemonTrainer>();

try
        {
         // Build a Scanner object to read user input
            Scanner s = new Scanner(System.in);
            // Tell the user what to do
            System.out.print("Please enter the filename containing the list: ");
        // Prepare to read from file
        String filename = s.nextLine();
        File file = new File(filename);
        Scanner in = new Scanner(file);

// Make an ArrayList to store all the accounts we will make

// Read each line until end of file is reached
        while (in.hasNextLine())
        {
            // Read an entire line, which contains all the details for 1 account
            String trainerName = in.next();

int amountOfPokemon = in.nextInt();

// Create an Account belonging to the owner we found in the file
            PokemonTrainer pt = new PokemonTrainer(trainerName);

// Put money into the account according to the amount of money we found in the file
            pt.addPokemon(amountOfPokemon);

// Put the Account into the ArrayList
            trainerList.add(pt);
        }
        }
        catch (FileNotFoundException e)
        {
            System.out.println("The file could not be opened, please try again");