Have I got a problem. I am quite new to xslt, and I have the following situation. I am presented with an xml file. I only want to extract the text in four of the tags present in the document. My first approach was to create a template for each of these tags, say the tags are <a>, <b>, <c>, and <d>. The templates are probably identical to the default templates except for one of them, so I probably didn't have to create the others. At any rate, my xslt code now looks something like

<xsl:apply-templates select="//a" />
<xsl:apply-templates select="//b" />
<xsl:apply-templates select="//c" />
<xsl:apply-templates select="//d" />

This produces all the material that want, of course, but unfortunately, it changes the order. I would like the order of the text in the output to be the same as the order of the text in the input. It is just that I only want to select the text in some of the tags present in the document.

How do I do this?

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

I'll be happy to help you with what you're trying to achieve. However,It's very difficult to try and understand what you want to do. The best way to show me is to provide a short, sample input XML document of what your source data looks like. Then provide me a short, OUTPUT document of what the previous input document would look like after it goes through your transformation. This way I can see exactly what you're trying to accomplish.

Do that and I'll see what I can do.

I am not actually allowed to show you what I am working on. However, I can make someting up that illustrates the same situation. My XML file then looks something like:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="iso-8859-1"?>
<docElt>
<q>The cat went upstairs leaving white fur all over the wood.</q>
<author>
<Name>George Morley</Name>
<Weight>253 pounds</Weight>
</Author>
<q2>She meowed loudly and lewdly, pacing the landing in anticipation of being given bacon and cheese.</q2>
<TimeOfDay>21445564</TimeOfDay>