Shaun Hannah 0 Newbie Poster

I am new to these internet news groups; but I am excited to learn because you people seam to know your stuff!!! I am fresh out of college; where I studied computer science and did very well. I stumbled upon a small business that does pest control. They hired me to install a network and build them a new server; and transfer all the existing data from a large foxpro database to a modern relational database. LOL, there existing server was a 386; running Novell 2.0!!! So after I finished that job there next step was to buy a new modern Pest Control Program. I wasn't impressed with what was available; and couldn't beleive that they were actually going to spend nearly 8,000 for a shabby program. So I thought about it, and figured this seams like a great opportunity for me to develope a better product; and hopefully sell it for the going market rate. Heck, I'm a college guy used to making 6.50 an hour; so I'd be happy with selling it for 4-5K!!! I am confident I can do this on my own, but I have some questions about the technology I should be targeting. I have a feeling that the concept of thin clients is really going to take off in the near future; now that the internet is so accessable and fast. So on one hand I want to develope the bulk for the program to run on a server, then simply display the results to the user through a thin terminal with an internet connection. After researching this I found that Macromedia has got server side tools to render a slick GUI on the flash platform(Flex); then it seams like Coldfusion would be the way to go for the backend. I see a couple potential problems with this concept... and thats where I'd like some feedback, both good and bad. Here are the problems; at least the way I see it:

1. Is the internet reliable enough to support business software like this?

2. Is flash going to be fast enough to support a full blown application?