Program a student uses the computer to figure out his average in this class. As long as he enters grades between 0 and 100, it computes the average. If he enters -1 for a grade, it stops computing and prints out the average.

I need help please someone help me i am new to C++.

Recommended Answers

All 19 Replies

What have you tried so far? Unless you show us your attempt, we'll assume that you didn't even try to think about it before running here for help.

#include <iostream.h>

int main()

{

int     total,          
        gradeCounter,
        grade, 
        average;

total = 0;
    gradeCounter = 1;

do
        while (gradeCounter == -1)
        {
            cout <<" Enter grade:";
            cin>> grade;
            total = total + grade;
            gradeCounter = gradeCounter +1;
        }
        average = total/gradeCounter;
        cout << "Class average is " << average << endl;

return 0;

}

error C2061: syntax error : identifier 'average'

not sure whats wrong with it. Am i approaching this correctly?

A do...while looks like this:

do {
   /* do stuff */
} while ( /* your condition */ );

And the semicolon at the end is important.

the thing is, i dont think i set up my program properly. when i read the description it says use -1 to end the calculations.

I'd say this is pretty straighforward: Make a loop; in your loop check whether a value entered is -1 -- if so, break.

#include <iostream.h>

int main()

{

int total,          
        gradeCounter,
        grade, 
        average; 

total = 0;
    gradeCounter = 1;

do  
    {
            cout <<" Enter grade:";
            cin>> grade;
            total = total + grade;
            gradeCounter = gradeCounter +1;

average = total/gradeCounter;

cout << "Class average is " << average << endl;

} 
    while (gradeCounter != -1);

return 0;

}