I'm kinda new to c++ and can only do very simple applications.
Could someone explain why this code works:

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int main()
{

bool inword = 0;
    unsigned int numwords = 0;
	char *str = "this is a test string for my project";
    char letter;

while (letter = *str++)
    {
        if(letter == ' ') 
        {
            inword = 0;
        }
        else if(inword == 0)
        {
            inword = 1;
            numwords++;
        }
    }
    cout << "Found " << numwords << " words!\n";
    system("PAUSE");
	return 0;
}

And this doesn't:

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int main()
{

bool inword = 0;
    unsigned int numletters = 0;
	char *str = "this is a test string for my project";
    char letter;

while (letter = *str++)
    {
        if(letter >= 'a' && letter <= 'z') 
        {
            inword = 0;
        }
        else if(inword == 0)
        {
            inword = 1;
            numletters++;
        }
    }
    cout << "Found " << numletters << " letters!\n";
    system("PAUSE");
	return 0;
}

Please help if you know any solution.

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

in first example counting the words at the begining of every word, in second example counting the words at following space (0x20). Try to add space after 'project'.

I think i see what you mean, but that's not the problem. How come it can count spaces but not letters?

Your 'else if' doesn't really make sense in the second one. If it's a-z you're obviously in a word, so no need to do that check, just increment the number of letters. (Especially since you don't even keep track of the number of words in the second example)

if(letter >= 'a' && letter <= 'z')
{
numletters++;
}

Thank you very much for your help, it works fine without the "else if". :cheesy:

Just one more small thing, how do I get the user to enter a line instead of declearing one in the code? Tried many things, but since i can't use "cin >> *str" I don't know what to do.