This code has errors

#include <iostream> 
void main()
{
int var [10];
for (I=0; I<5; I++)
     cout << var(i);

}

Now what I have come up with is this to correct the errors that I see.

#include <iostream> 
using namespace std;
void main()
{
int var [10];
for (i=0; i<5; i++)
 {
    cout << var(i)<<endl;
}
}

I think I fixed all the mistakes but can't get my compiler to run at the moment. I was wondering if there is anything else that I miss correcting the first program. Everything looks right to me but my gut says differently.

please let me know if I have another mistake or if I found them all.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

I'm a beginner with C++ but I'll attempt to help.

Line 3: Your main() function is void. The Main() function must always return an int. So change void to int.
Line 5: I don't believe you'll need this. Replace with a declaration of the variable "i"
Line 6: The variable "i" is never declared.
Line 8: You're trying to call "var" and providing the argument "i". Var is not a function and cannot be called. Replace var(i) with just i.

Finally at the end of the function add return 0;
This tells the operating system that everything went ok.

You can have a void and still return a value I thought.
Oh forgot to put the var (i) as var

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;
void main()
{
int var [10];
for (i=0; i<5; i++)
{
cout << var[i]<<endl;
}
}

No. Void states that the function will not return anything. Int says that it will return an integer. Main must return an integer.

You still have not declared the variable "i". Add "int i;"(no quotes) after you declare "var".

I still don't think you need the variable "var" or "var" at all. It can be replaced with just "i". Otherwise you get some pretty strange outputs like 2009147472. I doubt that's what you want.

Next time when you post about problem, please include the detail of error which the compiler is complaining...