My func looks like:

int pop(node **hd, char **new_element) {
	node *dummy;
	int i = 0;

if (empty(*hd) == 1) {
		printf("Stack is empty");
		return -1;
	} else {

(*new_element)[i] = (*hd)->element[i]; // problem is here ;)

dummy = *hd;
		*hd = (*hd)->next;
		free(dummy);
	}

and I call it via:

char *x = malloc(sizeof(char)*MAX_LINE_LNGTH + 1);
	x = "foo";

pop(&top, &x);

It crashes every time I assign some value to the (*new_element). I can read it's value by and print it, but not change it.

I'm a C beginner so I appreciate any help. Thanks in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

don't pass that char* as a double pointer when all it needs is a single pointer int pop(node **hd, char *new_element) { Then it can easily be acessed new_element[i] = (*hd)->element[i]; If the above doesn't fix the problem then it is in how it's accessing hd pointer.

>>char *x = malloc(sizeof(char)*MAX_LINE_LNGTH + 1);
The use of sizeof(char) here is superfluous. sizeof(char) is guarenteed to always be 1.

My func looks like:

int pop(node **hd, char **new_element) {
	node *dummy;
	int i = 0;

if (empty(*hd) == 1) {
		printf("Stack is empty");
		return -1;
	} else {

(*new_element)[i] = (*hd)->element[i]; // problem is here ;)

dummy = *hd;
		*hd = (*hd)->next;
		free(dummy);
	}

and I call it via:

char *x = malloc(sizeof(char)*MAX_LINE_LNGTH + 1);
	x = "foo";

pop(&top, &x);

It crashes every time I assign some value to the (*new_element). I can read it's value by and print it, but not change it.

I'm a C beginner so I appreciate any help. Thanks in advance.

The basic thing what you are trying to do is,

1. Allocate a memory to a pointer x [ suppose x points now to 1000]
2. x = "foo" , This will change the pointer x to point to address which holds the
string "foo" [say, to 3000]
This assignment makes step1 useless.
Since "foo" is a string constant, the memory which contains "foo" is in
the read only area; which means, you cannot write to the memory pointed by x.