Hey guys I have a study guide that I need some assistance with if possible. it is basically definitions.

Classes={}

Assume these statements are working with classes and objects:

Attribute?property

Instance

Encapsulation

Also I need to tell what this code does. I am not good with classes at all please can you break down each line.

class Critter(object):
     def __init__(self:
          print "A new critter is born!"
     def talk(self):
          print "\nHi. I am an instance of class critter.

#main
crit1 = Critter()
crit2 = Critter()
crti1.talk()
crit2.talk()

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

With the code you have there (which you need to put in code tags next time :) ), is a good example of classes.

class Critter(object):
	def __init__(self):    					#you were missing a close bracket
		print "A new critter is born!"
	def talk(self):
		print "\nHi. I am an instance of class critter."       		#you were missing close quotes

#global scope!!!
crit1 = Critter()
crit2 = Critter()
crit1.talk()      							#"crit" was written incorrectly
crit2.talk()

Basically, the first line of code declares a class named "Critter". The second line is the __init__ function. This is called when you initialize an instance of the class, which will come up in a minute. The next line will just print that sentence to the console. As this is in the __init__ function, it will be printed when you initialize an instance of the class.

The "talk" function is basically a function that you can call that is associated with the class, that can be used with every instance of the class. This will again simply print a sentence to the console.