I'm new to programming (only 4th week) and i am supposed to try and create a program that will... well ill just post what it wants as its alot. I'm just not sure how to get started on this as im drawing a blank on what to do. it is homework so im not looking for any "do it for me" help.

Write a program that simulates the dial of a phone number. The program will input a phone number and the program will acknowledge the call by either writing an error message or the 8 digit phone number to the console window. The phone number may have either digits, letters, or both.

Define a function named ReadDials() that reads each digit/letter dialed into 8 separate char variables (DO NOT USE ARRAYS). All digits are sent back through parameters by reference. Then, for each digit, the program will use a function named ToDigit(), which receives a single char argument (pass by reference) that may be a number or a letter of one of the digits dialed. If it is a number, return 0 by value indicating it is a valid digit. If the digit is a letter, the number corresponding to the letter is returned by reference and return 0 by value indicating it is a valid digit. Here are the letters associated with each digit.

0 5 J K L
1 6 M N O
2 A B C 7 P Q R S
3 D E F 8 T U V
4 G H I 9 W X Y Z

If the digit entered is not one of the valid digits or valid letters, return –1 by value indicating that you have an invalid digit.