{ temp=" ";
  Hangman obj = new Hangman();
  System.out.println ("Enter a character or type in 'hint' for a hint!");
  DataInputStream input=new DataInputStream(System.in);
  temp= input.readLine();
  if (temp.length()==1)
  {
     guess=temp.charAt(0);
     if ((guess >= 'a' && guess <='z') || (guess >='A' && guess <='Z'))
     {System.out.println();}
     else 
     {System.out.println ("Special symbols or numbers are not present in fruit names yet!" );
     System.out.println ("Please give a correct input below");
     obj.takeGuess();}
  }
  else if (temp.length()!=1)
  {
      if (temp=="hh")
        System.out.println ("giveHint()");
      else 
        {System.out.println ("Please give a correct single-character input below");
         obj.takeGuess();}
  }

System.out.println ( temp);
    System.out.println (guess);
}

I wrote this piece of code but sadly it does not function. the value of guess does not update. Can someone please help me out. I'm an absolute newbie ( 12 yrs. old ). Please explain why this is happening and also please give the updated code if possible. :)

Recommended Answers

All 24 Replies

Hangman obj = new Hangman();

This is a method of the class Hangman? This line makes a new Hangman object, with its own set of data, so it's starting from zero each time you call "takeGuess".
That's your main issue here. I think what you're trying to do when you call "obj.takeGuess()" at line 23 is to prompt for a new input if the user enters a multi-character String. What I would do instead would be to wrap the input in a loop which repeats if the input is not valid - in this case, if it's more than one character long.
so, schematically, something like:

boolean done = false;
while (not done)
{
  get input
  if input is 1 character
    do stuff with input and set done to true
  else print "Enter just one character, please" 
    //since you don't set done to true, it remains false, and you go through the loop again
}