Hello everybody

I'm a student and having problems with an assignment - I have at the moment no idea how to achieve an appropriate solution.

I'm aware that you shouldn't help me by showing some code. That's okay for me since I want to solve it by myself but I think it would be helpful when I get a small hint how to think about this problem here:

Write a simple program that controls an elevator in an office building. The
office building has 24 floors (0--23) and 3 elevators. The floors are 3m
heigh and the elevators move with 6m/s. Opening and closing the elevator
doors costs 6 seconds each.
Let's assume that all elevators are parked on the ground floor(0) and that
the doors are open. If a passenger wants to get from the ground floor to the
top floor (23), it would take 6sec (closing) plus 23*3/6sec (moving the
elevator) plus 6sec (opening) the door (=23.5sec). Total delivery time
would be 23.5sec.
Assuming that after 10 seconds another passenger requests an elevator on
the 10th floor (also going to the top floor), you have two options, reuse the
first elevator (which currently is on the 8th floor) or send a different one. If
you reuse the first elevator, it would arrive at second 11 on the 10th floor,
open its door take in the passenger (sec~17), close the doors (sec~23),
move to the top floor (sec~29.5), and open the door (sec~35.5). Total
delivery would be 35.5sec+25.5sec.
Had you used another elevator, the total delivery time would have been
23.5sec+29.5sec (close door (sec~16), move to floor 10 (sec~21), open
door (sec~27), close door (sec~33), move to top floor (sec~33.5), open
door (sec~39.5)).
Your program should read the information about passengers from a file passed as command line paramter
(or cin if '-' is passed as filename). The file contains one line per passenger. Each line contains a triple of
time-of-request, floor-of-request, target-floor-of request. For determining the elevator to use for a given