hello. im completely new to Java. i have done quite a bit of C# in the past, so that should be an advantage really. my question is, which area or section of Java should i start studying (i dont need to go through console applications..) to have a quick start into building graphical applications, then maybe mobile phones apps or even something for the web? could please anybody advise me? cheers

Contributors
Replies
Views
7 Years
Discussion Span
Last Post by aligajani

NetBeans or Eclipse. I use Eclipse and love it.
I'm assuming you can understand the basics and just don't know java's capabilities and syntax. If you really want to jump straight into GUIs, do a google search for "java layouts" and "java swing."

I started with "Java for Dummies (9 Books in One)". And NetBeans. I love NetBeans.

cheers, but i didnt ask for java for dumies, i said, i done quite a bit of c# and i dont have a problem with java at all. already tried it and its pretty much the same like c#. it seems like nobody even red my question, and i thought this website was solid. my mistake.. cheers anyway. ps: i was asking for a head start for more advanced java for mobile phone applications for example and stuff.. NO BASICS.. see?

I have a C++ in a Nutshell O'Reilly book and it's nothing beginner, although a beginner with enough patience could use it. It has everything there is to know on the language. Here is the O'Reilly Java in a Nutshell:
Java in a Nutshell
And here is the Java 6 API reference:
Java 6 API

Edited by seanbp: n/a

cheers, but i didnt ask for java for dumies, i said, i done quite a bit of c# and i dont have a problem with java at all. already tried it and its pretty much the same like c#. it seems like nobody even red my question, and i thought this website was solid. my mistake.. cheers anyway. ps: i was asking for a head start for more advanced java for mobile phone applications for example and stuff.. NO BASICS.. see?