Hi,
I want to send no emails with attachments.But i dont know anything about sending emails.Im using windows 7 visual studio 2008.
I was looking for help on internet.
According to them I installed IIS.I think it is IIS 7.
How to check the version of IIS?
Also smtp is not Shown in IIS.It was mentioned IIS 7 does not provide smtp.
Do i need to create any profile or somthing?
Im new to this. PLZ help me with a link or help me to do this.

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

You don't need IIS to send mail from .NET

A good starting point is MSDN documentation of System.Net.Mail namespace. Here's one example from MSDN. Not very good one, but do a bit googling: how to send mail with c sharp and you'll find examples and tutorials about this subject.

You do, however, need an SMTP server. If you have Gmail address (or create one) you can use Google's servers. There are instructions somewhere. But check first if your ISP provides SMTP server. One thing to remember is, if you create some spamming system, your account will be suspended.

HTH

Thank you.
PLZ help me Plz
I get a smtpException in client.send(message) line.

SmtpClient client = new SmtpClient("pop.mail.yahoo.com");

MailAddress from = new MailAddress("emailAddress","username" + (char)0xD8 + "password",System.Text.Encoding.UTF8);

MailAddress to = new MailAddress("buddhibj@yahoo.com");

MailMessage message = new MailMessage(from, to);
            message.Body = "This is a test e-mail message sent by an application. ";

message.BodyEncoding = System.Text.Encoding.UTF8;
            message.Subject = "test message 1";
            message.SubjectEncoding = System.Text.Encoding.UTF8;

client.Send(message);

Let's fix the code a bit. POP or POP3 is incoming mail, outgoing mail protocol is SMTP. You have to also set DeliveryMethod and Port-number properties. And the most important thing is credentials i.e. username and password to your SMTP server (i.e. Yahoo account in this case).

Here's the code: