Hey guys,

This is my first official post on DaniWeb :)

I am new at programming in C++ using visual studios, and right now I am fooling around with storing user input into Arrays.

I am having a problem with my code, using an array size of 3 to store the users input into the first 2 spots [0 and 1] and then making a calculation in the 3rd spot[2].

Here is my code:

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main()	{

double userInput[3];		//array can only hold *3* elements

cout<<"Enter the number of cars you wish to buy: ";
	cin>> userInput[0];			// users input stored into array 0

cout<<"Enter the amount of money you wish to spend for one car: ";
	cin>> userInput[1];

//the last array will times the number of cars you wish to buy times
	//the amount you wish to spend for one car.
	//the value will be stored in the last array

userInput[2] = userInput[0] * userInput[1];

cout<< "According to my calculations... If you were to buy "<<userInput[0]<<" cars, for $"<< userInput[1]<<" each, then the total money you will spend will be $" <<userInput[2]<<endl;

return 0;

}

P.S. How can I spread out the last 'cout' of my code onto multiple lines without disturbing the build so that it works!?

Thanks guys and I hope to hear a respond very soon!

- Ben.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

When I try to build it, I am getting an error '_main already defined in basic array.obj'

I don't see whats wrong with the code..

To make your code neater you can hit enter(just not in the middle of your strings), like:

cout<<"According to my calculations...if you were to buy..."
    <<userinput[0]<<" cars for $"
    <<userinput[1];

as the compiler will get rid of the whitespace.

The nice thing about cout is that you can simply keep giving it input without an "endl" or a "\n" and it will keep it on the same line.

cout<<"According...";
cout<<userinput[0];
cout<<" yada yada"
cout<<endl;

and it will be all on one line too. Experiment with it a little.