So I am new to maps, vectors too, but I read a guide on those.

And I need to do one thing with the map that I haven't figured out yet.

Implement this C# code into C++

map.TryGetValue(oldValue, out newValue)

In the C# code map is a dictionary, so I want to do the same thing with a map file, from my understanding the TryGetValue() function looks for the first parameter, in the keys, and if it finds it will store the value into the reference newValue. Any help? Ty :)

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

I don't know if this exact same thing exists, but you could do something similar using the std::map.find member function.

std::map< char, int >::iterator it = myMap.find(myKey);
if(it != std::map::end)    value = *it;

Usually anything with Try in front of it in C# checks to see if the retrieval/conversion/etc. is valid so you can use the call in an if statement.

Since the bool is returned, the value is returned by reference in the second parameter (C# has the designation of "out" to indicate that the parameter will be given a value within the method call). You can modify ravenous's code slightly to attain the same features.

I came up with this, seem accurate?

std::map<int, int>::iterator it = map.find(oldValue);
		if (it != map.end())
			newValue = it->second;
		else
			newValue = oldValue;

Except that if the value is not found the newValue would be set to the default value for a particular type (0 for ints, false for bools, null for objects) see: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/zkw5c9ak(v=vs.80).aspx

You can do this in one line, if you like:

newValue = ( map.find(oldValue) != map.end() ? map[oldValue] : 0 );

I think it's slower, since there's a second lookup, but there's something aesthetically pleasing about a one-liner :o)

Probably best to use the one you had (with the alteration that jonsca mentioned).

So I could use this instead:

std::map<int, int>::iterator it = map.find(oldValue);
		if (it != map.end())