I'm just learning how to use templates so I don't really have any experience with them, and I can't seem to understand what I'm supposed to do ... there's apparently an issue with the showWeaponSpecs:

error C2783: 'WS AssaultRifle::showWeaponSpecs(void)' : could not deduce template argument for 'WS' : see declaration of 'AssaultRifle::showWeaponSpecs'

AssaultRifle2.h

#include <iostream>
#include <string>
using namespace std;

class AssaultRifle
{
	private:
		string Name;
		string FurnitureType;
		string Caliber;
		int MagazineSize;
		int MaxCarryingCapacity;

public: 
		template <typename N>
		N setName(N n)
		{  Name = n;  }

template <typename FT>
		FT setFurnitureType (FT ft)
		{  FurnitureType = ft;  }

template <typename C>
		C setCaliber (C c)
		{  Caliber = c;  }

template <typename MS>
		MS setMagazineSize (MS ms)
		{  MagazineSize = ms;  }

template <typename MCC>
		MCC setMaxCarryingCapacity (MCC mcc)
		{  MaxCarryingCapacity = mcc;  }

template <typename WS>
		WS showWeaponSpecs()
		{
			cout << "Assault Rifle: " << Name << endl;
			cout << "Furniture Type: " << FurnitureType << endl;
			cout << "Caliber: " << Caliber << endl;
			cout << "Magazine Size: " << MagazineSize << endl;
			cout << "Max Carrying Capacity: " << MaxCarryingCapacity << endl << endl;
		} 
};

WeaponCreator2.cpp

#include <iostream>
#include "AssaultRifle2.h"
using namespace std;

int main()
{
	AssaultRifle M16A4;

M16A4.setName("M16A4");
	M16A4.setFurnitureType("Black Polymer");
	M16A4.setCaliber("5.56 x 45mm NATO");
	M16A4.setMagazineSize(30); 
	M16A4.setMaxCarryingCapacity(300); 

M16A4.showWeaponSpecs();

return 0;
}

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Sorry, forgot to make the changes to the AssaultRifle header

AssaultRifle2.h

#include <iostream>
#include <string>
using namespace std;

class AssaultRifle
{
	private:
		string Name;
		string FurnitureType;
		string Caliber;
		int MagazineSize;
		int MaxCarryingCapacity;

public: 
		template <typename N>
		N setName(N n)