Hello,

I'm just wondering how you return a vector from a member function. I've looked online but had no luck. At the moment my function is set to long double, and when I tried setting it to std::vector it came up with lots of errors. Here is my code:

public:
long double evalx(vector<long double>, vector<long double>, vector<long double>);

long double IFS::evalx(vector<long double> x, vector<long double>a, vector<long double>b)
{

a[0] = 1.0;
    b[0] = 1.0;
    for(int i=1; i<=1; ++i)
    {
        a[i] = (matrix[0]*a[i-1] + matrix[1]*b[i-1] + matrix[2]);
    }
    x.push_back(a[i+1]);
    return x;

}

It is telling me
error:: cannot convert 'std::vector<long double>' to 'long double' in return
which makes sense, I just don't know how to tell it to return a vector. Sorry I'm still very new to c++. Any help would be gratefully received. Thank you.

Edited by megaLU: n/a

Contributors
Replies
Views
6 Years
Discussion Span
Last Post by megaLU
Featured Replies
  • The type before the function name is the return type: [code] std::vector<long double> yourFunction() { vector<long double> a; return a; } [/code] Read More

• Certainly: [code] std::vector<long double> IFS::yourFunction() { vector<long double> a; return a; } [/code] Read More

• That is fine, but you wont get the returned value. Why are you passing a vector<long double> as a parameter? The function should be defined like this: [code] std::vector<long double> IFS::yourFunction() { } [/code] then you should call it with: [code] IFS yourClass; std::vector<long double> returnedValue = yourClass.yourFunction(); [/code] Read More

The type before the function name is the return type:

std::vector<long double> yourFunction()
{
  vector<long double> a;
  return a;
}

Oh right, nice one thanks a lot.
Is there any way of keeping my class in there though? As in the IFS bit. Because otherwise it doesn't know what I'm talking about when I call matrix[]..?

Certainly:

std::vector<long double> IFS::yourFunction()
{