Hello,
I am having some trouble in importing a CSV file into an array. The CSV file has multiple columns, and what i really wanted to end up doing is getting the element inside each block of the CSV file. So far i've only been able to get a row into a variable.

End result, i would like to find what's inside of each cell as to give it a number and store it inside my own 2-d array.
Thanks for the help!

You forgot to put in your code. Do not forget first to push CODE before pasting.

Edited 3 Years Ago by happygeek: fixed formatting

I'm quite new to python. I've used it as a scripting language before, and i'm a C++ programmer myself, so still learning here.
Here's what i got:

#!/usr/bin/python
import csv
a = [];
i=0;

b='';

csvReader = csv.reader(open('setcubed.csv', 'rb'), delimiter=' ', quotechar='|');
for row in csvReader:
	a.append(row);

for i in range(0, len(a)):
	print a[i];

And here's the output:

What I want to do is be able to look at each of those cells so i can give a value to another array depending on what is in that cell.

Here is some code that may help you:

import string

file = open("example.csv", "rb")
lines = []
for line in file.xreadlines():
    print line
    lines.append(string.split(line, ','))

This method has one flaw: string.split also includes \r\n in the last string of the list.

I'm quite new to python. I've used it as a scripting language before, and i'm a C++ programmer myself, so still learning here.
Here's what i got:

#!/usr/bin/python
import csv
a = [];
i=0;

b='';

csvReader = csv.reader(open('setcubed.csv', 'rb'), delimiter=' ', quotechar='|');
for row in csvReader:
	a.append(row);

for i in range(0, len(a)):
	print a[i];

And here's the output:

What I want to do is be able to look at each of those cells so i can give a value to another array depending on what is in that cell.