Member Avatar for BobTheLob

Hello,
I am having some trouble in importing a CSV file into an array. The CSV file has multiple columns, and what i really wanted to end up doing is getting the element inside each block of the CSV file. So far i've only been able to get a row into a variable.

End result, i would like to find what's inside of each cell as to give it a number and store it inside my own 2-d array.
Thanks for the help!

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

You forgot to put in your code. Do not forget first to push CODE before pasting.

Member Avatar for BobTheLob

I'm quite new to python. I've used it as a scripting language before, and i'm a C++ programmer myself, so still learning here.
Here's what i got:

#!/usr/bin/python
import csv
a = [];
i=0;

b='';

csvReader = csv.reader(open('setcubed.csv', 'rb'), delimiter=' ', quotechar='|');
for row in csvReader:
	a.append(row);

for i in range(0, len(a)):
	print a[i];

And here's the output:

What I want to do is be able to look at each of those cells so i can give a value to another array depending on what is in that cell.

Here is some code that may help you:

import string

file = open("example.csv", "rb")
lines = []
for line in file.xreadlines():
    print line
    lines.append(string.split(line, ','))

This method has one flaw: string.split also includes \r\n in the last string of the list.

I'm quite new to python. I've used it as a scripting language before, and i'm a C++ programmer myself, so still learning here.
Here's what i got:

#!/usr/bin/python
import csv
a = [];
i=0;

b='';

csvReader = csv.reader(open('setcubed.csv', 'rb'), delimiter=' ', quotechar='|');
for row in csvReader:
	a.append(row);

for i in range(0, len(a)):
	print a[i];

And here's the output:

What I want to do is be able to look at each of those cells so i can give a value to another array depending on what is in that cell.