Hey everyone,

I need to write a program that reads names and GPA’s from a text file. The file looks like:

James 3.9
Margaret 3.5
Charles 1.2
Jennifer 4.0

The program sorts the students ascending by gpa, and prints the sorted list including names. To keep the names with the numbers use parallel arrays, one for the names, the other for the numbers. Sort the numbers. Whenever you swap 2 numbers also swap their matching names in the names array.

The only thing that I've done so far is to open the text file and created a function called:
gpa_sorter(istream& in,string student[200],double studentGPA[200])

I don't know how to even write the pseudo code after while(!in.eof()) because im confused about sorting the data from in the file into 2 separate arrays, one that is double and one that is string.

Also, I'm not allowed to use vectors yet, and if you could please describe it to me as simple as possible in pseudo code, that would be great because i'm only in my first year.

Thanks again.

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

well if you have the read the data in from the file. store the names into an array of a string and the gpa into an array of doubles. I'm not exactly how you are supposed to be sorting the information. the trick is that when you are sorting one of the arrays you need to do the swap in the other array. lets say you have

string names[20];
double gpa[20];

when you swap gpa[2] and gpa[5] you also need to swap names[2] and names[5].

my first problem I need to resolve is to actually put the correct data into both arrays. How do i store the names in one, and the numbers in the other array if their both in the same file?

If the file is guaranteed to be in the form that you have above, you can do something simple like:

std::string names[n];
double grade[n];
std::ifstream infile("filename.txt", std::ios::in);
unsigned i = 0;
while(infile.fail() == false && i < n){
    infile >> names[i] >> grade[i];
    ++i;
}