Hello, I am new to this site, as well as to C++. I was hoping someone could help me out with my program, I was hoping to incorporate an if, else statement which we have yet to go over to see if I can. I have basic experience in java so I know some about if, then's but I was wondering if you wouldn't mind helping me out a little with this program:

Please keep in mind that I am a beginner and in a novice C++ class so I would appreciate a flame free discussion :)

double ovalue;

cout << "Please enter your value and press <enter>: ";

cin >> ovalue;

if ( ovalue == "-> a letter <-" ) ***

{
    cout << "You have entered an unknown number, please try again."
    }

cout << endl; 

else
    {

cout << "The value you have entered is: " << ovalue << ".";

}

*** First off this is not my exact problem, I changed it up a little just in case this sort of thing is unacceptable. And 2 there is a lot more to this code.

Back on track I was wondering if I was anywhere close to being on track? Do I have to declare an integer value at the top to have it spit the error when someone typed in a letter, or what would I change "-> a letter <-" to, in order to make it spit the error when a letter is typed in? I am kind of weird like this, I don't want you to solve everything for me, I would appreciate some hints at first please. I very much appreciate any/all help people are willing to contribute! And if you site does +rep or thanks, expect plenty from me!

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

Your basic structure is correct. The problem is Line 13. An else must follow directly after its associated if or the connection will be broken. Line 13 breaks that connection. You will need to move that into the block controlled by your if statement.

Due "Truth in Education" (or similarly named) policies that are typically in place at educational institutions, and forum policies, I'm going to refrain from posting code for now.

I will give you this link though.

commented: Thanks for the help +0