Hi friends,
I am a final year Mechanical Student and I am doing my Final year project in C++. My project requires some complicated programming in C++..
Here are the details.
Initially I need to create a random matrix.
The user will give the no of rows and columns.
For example, if the user gives no of rows as 5 and no of columns as 5, the program must randomly generate 5*5 matrix.
Also the numbers must range from 0 to 1.5 only.. All are decimal numbers..
For example, if it is a 5*5 matrix, all 25 numbers should not be non zero. Almost 15 or 16 numbers should be zero. The rest of the non zero numbers should be dispersed such that no row contains all numbers as zeros..
This must work out for any number of row or column..
Next step is even more difficult.
The program must shuffle the rows and columns of this matrix and obtain 10 new matrices..
The initial matrix should be rearranged randomly to give these 10 matrices.
After this I have to apply PSO algorithm to these matrices. But that is only after this program.
Please Help friends.
Thank You.

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

I think the stl container template, std::vector<T> will help you with the dynamic allocation, and the STL algorithm std::random_shuffle() will help you obtain new matrices--as for the random number generation, if you have C++0x TR1 support on your compiler, you can use the new random number generation facilities which includes distributions. Otherwise, the C function rand() will generate random numbers, and you will have to make do with them, probably by dividing by 10 until you get a decimal (or something more creative).

Of course you may opt to not use the vector or standard library algorithms, it is just a possibility and will make it much easier to do the assignment.

You have not specified the problem fully enough to make it possible to think about how to solve it.