Hi All,

I am a newbie at java and need some help. I have a JFrame setup where basically I want to show two pictures. I have everything setup however at sleep, timers ect dont currently work and I dont know why. The snipplet of code below should show imagePanel1 first then after 5seconds remove imagePanel1 then add imagePanel2 to the frame. However when I start it the first 5seconds shows nothing but a transparent frame then it shows imagePanel2 after 5seconds. Anyone know why this might be happening and how to fix it. I've already tried to use Thread.sleep(5000); but still no luck and same is happening.

static class previewAction implements ActionListener {

final int seconds = 5;
	final long start = System.currentTimeMillis();

public void actionPerformed(ActionEvent e) {

previewFrame.setVisible(true);
		imageLabel1.setIcon(imageIcon1);
		imagePanel1.add(imageLabel1);
		imageLabel2.setIcon(imageIcon2);
		imagePanel2.add(imageLabel2);
		previewFrame.getContentPane().add(imagePanel1);

long a1 = System.currentTimeMillis();   
		while(true) {   
		       long b1 =  System.currentTimeMillis();   
		       if(b1-a1 >= 5000) break;   // Elapsed 5s   
		       previewFrame.getContentPane().remove(imagePanel1);
		       previewFrame.getContentPane().add(imagePanel2);  
		}  
	}
}

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Google the Swing Event Dispatch Thread - this is a standard problem that's well documented - but basically your ActionPerformed method blocks all screen updates etc until it has finished.
The right way to handle delays in a Swing GUI is to use a javax.swing.Timer - once again this is well documented on the web.

commented: Quick and helpful. Thanks again +0

Will it still work using a javax.swing.Timer inside the ActionPerformed method blocks?

and thanks for the reply

This is well documented on the web,with lots of examples, but basically you need to split this into two methods: