Hi All,

I am a newbie at java and need some help. I have a JFrame setup where basically I want to show two pictures. I have everything setup however at sleep, timers ect dont currently work and I dont know why. The snipplet of code below should show imagePanel1 first then after 5seconds remove imagePanel1 then add imagePanel2 to the frame. However when I start it the first 5seconds shows nothing but a transparent frame then it shows imagePanel2 after 5seconds. Anyone know why this might be happening and how to fix it. I've already tried to use Thread.sleep(5000); but still no luck and same is happening.

static class previewAction implements ActionListener {

final int seconds = 5;
	final long start = System.currentTimeMillis();

public void actionPerformed(ActionEvent e) {

previewFrame.setVisible(true);
		imageLabel1.setIcon(imageIcon1);
		imagePanel1.add(imageLabel1);
		imageLabel2.setIcon(imageIcon2);
		imagePanel2.add(imageLabel2);
		previewFrame.getContentPane().add(imagePanel1);

long a1 = System.currentTimeMillis();   
		while(true) {   
		       long b1 =  System.currentTimeMillis();   
		       if(b1-a1 >= 5000) break;   // Elapsed 5s   
		       previewFrame.getContentPane().remove(imagePanel1);
		       previewFrame.getContentPane().add(imagePanel2);  
		}  
	}
}

Edited by StevoLord: n/a

Contributors
Replies
Views
6 Years
Discussion Span
Last Post by StevoLord
Featured Replies
  • Google the Swing Event Dispatch Thread - this is a standard problem that's well documented - but basically your ActionPerformed method blocks all screen updates etc until it has finished. The right way to handle delays in a Swing GUI is to use a javax.swing.Timer - once again this is … Read More

• Well done Steveo. Isn't it doubly satisfying when you get something to work AND you know it's done "right", not a bodge? Read More