In the book I'm studying we are given a function to make rand() work for numbers that are smaller that RAND_MAX

int nrand(int n){
	if(n <= 0 || n > RAND_MAX)
		throw domain_error("Argument to nrand is out-of-range");

const int bucket_size = RAND_MAX/n;

int r;

do r = rand()/bucket_size;
	while(r >= n);

return r;
}

and then we are asked to 'adapt' it so it'll work for numbers that are larger than RAND_MAX

I was offered this solution

if(n > RAND_MAX){
    return nrand(n % RAND_MAX) + RAND_MAX * nrand(n / RAND_MAX);

which seemed good to me ... but I realized it won't work for a number that's exactly 2,3,4 ... times bigger than RAND_MAX ... cuz it'll pass a 0 value no nrand, causing it to throw and exception and fail ... so I came up with this simpler solution

if(n > RAND_MAX){
		int r = rand();
		return r + nrand(n - r);
	}

it works ... BUT since I'm using + to create the final number ... larger numbers will happen more ofter than smaller numbers ... like the chances of getting 0 or 1 (for example) will be really small!

Can anyone help me think of a better solution?

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Can anyone help me think of a better solution?

You can follow a similar train of thought as nrand. Calculate the number of RAND_MAX sized buckets in your extended range, then for a randomly selected number of those buckets, add RAND_MAX to r.

What happens when std::numeric_limits<int>::max() == RAND_MAX ? You'll never actually enter any of your code segments since if(n > RAND_MAX) can not ever be true.
In order to be able to return a value larger than RAND_MAX (without worrying about overflow) you will need to return a long or long long (or at least an unsigned int).

What happens when std::numeric_limits<int>::max() == RAND_MAX ? You'll never actually enter any of your code segments since if(n > RAND_MAX) can not ever be true.