All,

I’m new to C++ and trying to figure out the best way to do a multidimensional array of pointers to a class.

The code I am presenting demonstrates several questions I had and am hoping to get some help with each question.

The basic idea is to create myMatrix, a two dimensional array of pointers to myClass, populate it by passing it to the function populateMatrix by reference, delete the array, and repeat these steps for a specific number of iterations (10 in the program presented).

I think the code below is 95% correct, although I get an error on line 67 that states "error C2512: 'myClass' : no appropriate default constructor available". I’m not certain how to fix this. Also, I’m not sure how to refer to the matrix once I pass it to the populateMatrix function.

Although those are my questions for the actual code, I was hoping to get some other thoughts on the coding in general. Specifically,
1) If I would like to repopulate the matrix with a different set of values each time (say, read the values from a file for example), should I create and delete the matrix for each iteration as shown, or is it more practical to simply set all the pointers to NULL and reuse it?

2) Should I be setting the pointer to NULL in line 70? I got the basic structure of the code from Wrox Professional C++ (page 360), but they don’t set the pointer to NULL. They way I read Beginning Visual C++ 2010, it seems to say all pointers should be set to null when initialized. Also, I thought I had read somewhere that pointers set to NULL don’t actually go through all the delete steps, so there is a time savings if the pointer is set to NULL to begin with and then never assigned a value. Is this true?