Hi,

i am very new to c and was wondering if anybody can help me. i want to create an array of size 1 million bits. i heard you can use malloc or calloc. does anybody know how to do this,

thanks in advanced,

sc

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

Hi,

i am very new to c and was wondering if anybody can help me. i want to create an array of size 1 million bits. i heard you can use malloc or calloc. does anybody know how to do this,

thanks in advanced,

sc

Arrays and even calloc and malloc allocate contiguous memory. And the amount of contguous memory you can allocate at one time may be limited. If you need to work with large dataset then try linked lists. If you still want to stick to calloc, malloc etc. then try farmalloc or halloc i.e. you may have to change the memory model.

If you still want to stick to calloc, malloc etc. then try farmalloc or halloc i.e. you may have to change the memory model.

Those two functions are only available on ancient 16-bit compilers such as Turbo C. Modern 32-bit compilers have no such functions. OP didn't say what compiler or operating system he is using.

i want to create an array of size 1 million bits.

arrays are allocated in bytes, not bits. so 1 million bits on most computers will be 1,000,000 / 8 = 125,000 bytes. :)

Those two functions are only available on ancient 16-bit compilers such as Turbo C. Modern 32-bit compilers have no such functions. OP didn't say what compiler or operating system he is using.

Hmmm, I think you are right. I used faralloc only in Turbo C. I guess in 32-bit addressing systems there wont be any data which is "far", it should always be "near", hence there's no need for a different addressing system.
Here I have a question. As far as I knew in 16-bit systems(or atleast in DOS) you cannot declare an array that contiguously takes more than 64K memory. I was wondering what is the case with 32-bit systems! Is there any such limitations in 32-bit systems?