hello,

I'm fairly new to programming in general, and i'm having some trouble figuring out how to use a stack and queue to check to see if a word or certain order of numbers/letters form a palindrome or not.

My logic is to read in the original string, push/pop characters into the stack/queue, and then compare the original string with the reversed string, but I am having trouble understanding where to loop I think.

a sample input/output would be:

Infile: mom

outFile: mom is a palindrome

Here is my code thus far:

#include "stack.h"
#include "queue.h"

int main()
{
   ifstream inFile;
   ofstream outFile;
   Queue q;
   StackType s;
   string oWord;
   string revWord = "";
   int i = 0;
   int z = 0;

inFile.open("in.data");
   outFile.open("out.data");

if (inFile.fail() || outFile.fail()){
     cout << "File error, check input or output files." << endl;
     return 1;
   }

inFile >> oWord;
    outFile << oWord;

while ((!q.IsFull) && (!s.IsFull)){
      q.Enqueue(oWord[i]);
      s.Push(oWord[i]);
      i++;
    }

while ((!q.IsEmpty()) && (!s.IsEmpty())){
      s.Pop(oWord[z]);
      q.Dequeue(oWord[z]);
      revWord = oWord[i];
      i--;
    }

if (revWord == oWord)
      outFile << " is a palindrome" << endl;
    else
       outFile << " is not a palindrome" << endl;

return 0;

}

I know there's a lot of things wrong, I just am stumped on how to figure out this logic.

Thanks for your time and help.

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Why use a queue at all? The queue is only gonna return the same thing as your string in the first place.

Remember the nature of a stack. A stack is somewhat unfair and believes that the last person to come should be the first to go. Think of a "stack" of objects. You always place both on top of the stack, and take off the top of the stack. Because its "last come, first serve", all you need to do is fill a stack and compare that to your original string.