Hi everyone,

I am totally new to VB and am trying to put together a macro. In short, I want it to select a range, store the values as an array (employee names). Then I want to loop through the values in the array. For each iteration, I want to go into a different sheet, filter it by each array value (each employee name), count the numbers of rows that show up in the filter result (represents holidays taken to date), make another array containing these values and then print this new array in the column beside the range where the original array was extracted so I have the employee name with holidays taken to date beside it.

I hope this makes sense!!

I really need some help with this. This is what I have come up with so far and it's not working but I hope you can help me get onto the right track!

Sub Test()

Sheets("Employees").Select

Dim myarray As Variant

myarray = Range("B14:B23").Value

Dim newArray As Variant

For i = 1 To UBound(myarray)

Sheets("Holidays").Select

ActiveSheet.Range("$A$1:$N$302").AutoFilter Field:=12, Criteria1:= _
        "=myarray", Operator:=xlAnd

Range("R307").Select

ActiveCell.FormulaR1C1 = "=SUBTOTAL(3,R[-160]C[-5]:R[-157]C[-5])" 'This is where I am stuck

Range("R307") = newArray '???

Next

Sheets("Employees").Select

Range("C14:D23").Value = newArray

End Sub

Let me try from some different angle...

Employee names are in cells B14 to B23
In sheet Holidays, Employees names are in column L (12 column) mentioned in Autofilter in row 18th.
So you need to count how many times Employee name is listed in columns 12 of sheet Holidays?
If this is correct you do not need arrays..
In every cell from C14 to C23 put this formula:

=COUNTIF(Holidays!L2:L523;B14)

This is sample for C14, in C15 change B14 to B15 etc...
range in holidays sheet is where i think that names are, so you can change this rang.