{
                Status = true;
                Thread WorkThread = new Thread(Work);
                WorkThread.Start();
                StopWorking();
        }

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

I do that all the time, except using a Mutex. I'm extremely new to C# and only today learned of the "lock" statement.

From what I've read about multi-threading in C# you may not want your _Status to be static. I searched google again and couldn't find the exact page on it. Remember I'm still new to this C# business. The readonly on the _LockThis puzzles me also.

No, with the code as-is you have no potential deadlock problems. Static objects are fine, as long as you have a good reason to use them in the particular class. But as for locking static objects and using synchronization on static properties, go ahead. In this case, however, you might want to consider using alternative ways of stopping and starting operations on your thread using more advanced methods that were meant for precisely what you appear to want to do.

Depending on the situation, you might even be able to use Thread.Start() and Thread.Abort() and not even bother with variables in the first place. You just have to remember to use Abort() correctly.

minitech,

Thanks for the insight. It's for a socket server listening loop. Closing the socket will end the listening thread correctly, so I'll just do that, but it just got me thinking of ways to do it gracefully, never used it before, but was curious about it if I ever needed to use it.

You wouldn't want to use a static lock with a non-static object. Remember that all objects of that type will be locked when one thread tries to access them.

commented: For continuous efforts, nice avatar btw :) +9

You wouldn't want to use a static lock with a non-static object. Remember that all objects of that type will be locked when one thread tries to access them.

Wait a second. What?