I'm just wondering how programmers rate their own skills, for instance I haven't been using C# very long, but I do feel I have a good grasp on the language.

If I see on a job listing: "* 3+ years C# or Visual Basic.NET "

What the heck is 3+ years of C# ?? What does that mean to you guys? Surely experience with programming using C++ should count for something also.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

I would say no it doesn't count.

C++ and C#, while similar, are different languages. I can't program in C++, but I can in C#. I don't know what header files really are, no idea how to even create a window in C++. If you want to work at a job that requires C# experience, and you only have C++, if I was a project manager or working in HR, I wouldn't hire you.

I would say that 3+ years of C# experience means just that. Either working on a project (or many) that were written in C# for at least 3 years. Some places might include school work, but it depends.

I think that personal projects can count as well. If you have source code that you can part with and a compiled, finished project, share it with them so they can see that while you are "self-employed" or "self-taught" you actually can provide something to show for it.

Just my 2c worth.

Lets say you were doing C# for 3 years. But now we have to ask you, what were you doing in these past 3 years? Have you learned every single day (for at least 2-3 hours for day), or did you only occasionally used any book(s) and Visual Studio for your practice, or there was something in between?
You see what I mean, its a big difference in those 3 examples. Someone can be almost an expert, when the other doesn`t even know what is (means) an Object in OOP, or how to use Lambda Expressions for an instance.