Edit : Broken from this thread. http://www.daniweb.com/software-development/cpp/threads/35587/175186#post175186

Hello. I got the same problem. But i need to read the string table from a file. I must use a 3d table? The table in the file must look like this:

A	B	C	D	E
A	QX	FN	LB	YE	HJ
B	AS	EZ	BN	RD	CO
C	PD	RA	MG	LU	OP
…	…	…	…	…	…

I declared the table as: char table[27][27][2]; it's length must be 27 rows and lines. Any ideas how can i read it from a text file? I am a beginner at C++ and use borlandC or visual c++.

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

That depends on how you want to write it within the file. If you write it the same way it appears then may be you can use getline() function to get an entire line and then process it by using the space as delimiters to get your values. Or you can add a special delimiter like '|' between terms to keep them separate and then process it the same way as mentioned above.

Edit : Broken from this thread. http://www.daniweb.com/software-development/cpp/threads/35587/175186#post175186

Hello. I got the same problem. But i need to read the string table from a file. I must use a 3d table? The table in the file must look like this:

A	B	C	D	E
A	QX	FN	LB	YE	HJ
B	AS	EZ	BN	RD	CO
C	PD	RA	MG	LU	OP
…	…	…	…	…	…

I declared the table as: char table[27][27][2]; it's length must be 27 rows and lines. Any ideas how can i read it from a text file? I am a beginner at C++ and use borlandC or visual c++.

You have two options... the first one is to find a way to skip all the white spaces and when you reach a non-space, you put that in your array. To do that you would have something like this:

char a = ' ';
for (unsigned int i = 0; i < 27; ++i){
  for (unsigned int j = 0; j < 27; ++j){
    while (a == ' ' || a == '\n') fin.get(a); //skips over new line characters too '\n'
    array[i][j][0] = a;
    fin.get(a)
    array[i][j][1] = a;
  }
}