I know this is a very common program that has been discussed, and I have searched through all the previous posts about it but still having problems. It's a program for an airline seating reservation. Consists of 12 seats total, 1-4 is First Class, and 5-12 is Economy. I have to use a two dimensional array to simulate the seats. I am having trouble with the loop and also on how to work in a boolean expression into the program. I am a beginner to java. Here is what I have so far:

import java.util.Scanner;

public class flight{
  public static void main(String[] args){

Scanner input = new Scanner(System.in);

boolean seat[][];
  	  seat = new boolean[6][2];

int value;
        value = 1;
        while(value != 0)

System.out.print("Please type 1 for First Class or type 2 for Economy or type 0 to end the program.");
		value = input.nextInt();

switch (value){
		case 1:

for (int i = 0; i < 2; i++)
{		
    for (int j = 0; j <2; j++)
    if(i<2 & j<2)
    System.out.println("Your seat is: " + 2*i + (j+i));
}

else {
		System.out.println();
		System.out.print("There are no more seats available in the selected class");
}
		break;

case 2:

for (int i = 2; i < 6; i++)
{
   for (int j = 2; j <6; j++)
   if(i<6 & j<6)
System.out.println("Your seat is " + 2*i + (j+i));
}

else {
		System.out.println();
		System.out.print("There are no more seats available in the selected class");
}
		        break;

case 0:

break;

default:
				System.out.println("Invalid selection, please try again..!");

}
         }
}

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

and what exactly are you stuck with?
I'm just checking this from work during my lunch, which means I don't have the time to copy-paste-compile-run-debug the entire story.

what do you get? what did you expect to get? what error messages or exceptions do you get?

if we know that, at least we'll now better where to look.