Hey guys, so I just started learning computational geometry, and I decided to make a class for a Point and a class for a Ray. This is my code:

#include <iostream>
#include <string>

using namespace std;

class Point {
  public:
    double x, y;

Point(double x, double y) {
      this->x = x;
      this->y = y;
    }
};

class Ray {
  public:
    Point start, end;

Ray(Point start, Point end) {
      this->start = start;
      this->end = end;
    }
};

int main() {
  cout << "If only this worked..." << endl;
}

Now, when I comment out the Ray class, the Point class works fine. However, when I make the Ray class, it wont compile. This is what I get:

"C:\Users\Matt\Desktop\C++\geom.cpp||In constructor 'Ray::Ray(Point, Point)':|
C:\Users\Matt\Desktop\C++\geom.cpp|20|error: no matching function for call to 'Point::Point()'|
C:\Users\Matt\Desktop\C++\geom.cpp|10|note: candidates are: Point::Point(double, double)|
C:\Users\Matt\Desktop\C++\geom.cpp|6|note: Point::Point(const Point&)|
C:\Users\Matt\Desktop\C++\geom.cpp|20|error: no matching function for call to 'Point::Point()'|
C:\Users\Matt\Desktop\C++\geom.cpp|10|note: candidates are: Point::Point(double, double)|
C:\Users\Matt\Desktop\C++\geom.cpp|6|note: Point::Point(const Point&)|
||=== Build finished: 6 errors, 0 warnings ===|
"

Can anybody help me get something that at least compiles and be so kind to explain what I did wrong? Thanks!

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

The problem is in these lines:

Point start, end;

Point(double x, double y) {
      this->x = x;
      this->y = y;
}

Your Point class has one constructor, that takes two arguments. However, no where in the Ray class you tell it what the arguments should be. So the compiler is assuming that you want to call Point's default constructor. This default constructor has no arguments and only gets generated when you don't implement any other constructor.