This is an ongoing question going through my head....

I've been doing C++ programming for about 4 months now. Been using Deitel's C++ How to program book. Learned from the basics till data structures like link lists, queues, stacks, trees..all using templates, vectors, pointers. File processing (sequential and random). Well, practically >90% of the book. Had to cram all these into my head, cause my college assigned an Advanced C++ class for me though I didn't know any C++ at all. The end result was pretty satisfying though.

The question is...where do I go after this? These are some of the things I have in mind and happen to have the books for it:
1) Windows 32 API (MS Press, Programming Windows, 5th edition)
2) Windows with MFC (MS Press, Programming Visual C++, 5th edition)
3) Adding C to my knowledge besides C++?

Been programming console programs all these while, and I am interested in making applications with GUI and eventually some simple games (2D maybe). What I know is that, it is probably easier to write apps with VB or Java....but I don't want to waste my effort that I've put into C++. Plus Java programs kinda work much slower than C++ and I've been pretty amazed with the speed of C++ though it is much harder than anything I've learned.

So...anyone out there who's gone through a similar phase got any advice for me? Hope you guyz can help me out..
Thanks in advance. :o

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

The idea that Java is "much slower than C++" is largely a myth.
Sure, it once used to be slower, but no more.

For C++ GUIs (I guess you're working on Win32 platform only given what you already mentioned for options) there's another option to consider and that's VCL.
It's the standard GUI library for Borland C++ Builder which is included in the brand new Delphi Studio 2006 (to be released later this month) as well.
A breeze to work with, and far more consistent than is MFC.