hi, I am looking for the code for the following program. Consider a set of elements and a given sum. You need to find a subset of elements whose sum equals or is greater[given there are more than one subset, print the one whose sum is closest to the number] to that number.
PS: it's similar to subset sum problem.
thanks

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

We don't give away code so that students can cheat on their homework. If you want to put forth some effort in writing this program you'll find help here, otherwise the thread will be in violation of Daniweb's rules and be either closed or deleted.

the code i have written calculates for the sum to be equal to the given number. I have tried to test run and see, what modifications i could make to satisfy the problem statement, could not come across a solution. Also i am an electrical engineering student, i do not have much idea of c/c++.

the code i have written

Doesn't exist in our perspective until you post it. Show us what you have, tell us what you've tried, and someone will help you move forward.

#include<stdio.h>

int count,w[10],d,x[10];

void subset(int cs,int k,int r)
	{
	   int i;
	   x[k]=1;
	   if(cs+w[k]==d)
	    { 
	       printf("\n Subset solution = %d\n",++count);
	       for(i=0; i<=k; i++)
	       {
	         if(x[i]==1)
	         printf("%d\n",w[i]);
	       }
	     }
	  else if(cs+w[k]+w[k+1] <=d)
	        subset(cs+w[k],k+1,r-w[k]);
	    if((cs+r-w[k]>=d)&&(cs+w[k+1])<=d)
	    {				
	      x[k]=0;
	      subset(cs,k+1,r-w[k]);
	    }
	}

int main()
	{
		int sum=0,i,n;
		printf("enter no of elements\n");
		scanf("%d",&n);
		printf("Enter the elements in ascending order\n");
		for(i=0; i<n; i++)
		scanf("%d",&w[i]);
		printf("Enter the required sum\n");
		scanf("%d",&d);
		for(i=0; i<n; i++)
		sum +=w[i];
	    if(sum < d)
     	{
        	printf("no solution exits\n");

} 	
  		printf("The solution is\n");
  		count =0;
  		subset(0,0,sum);
  		return 0;
	}