Hello to everybody,

I am a c++ beginner, and I want to do a program that reads a file with a column with numbers, "finds" the repeated numbers and write the repetitions on other file. For example, I have a file like this:

Input file:

And I want the output to be:
6 0R
5 0R
4 1R
7 0R
5 0R
6 3R
1 0R

I've done the following program:

#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>
using namespace std;

int main ()
{ 
    int i=0;
    int igual=0;
    int array[30];
    ifstream inFile;
    ofstream outFile;

inFile.open("teste.txt");
    outFile.open("escrita.txt");   
     while (inFile)
     {
       for (i=0;i<=10;i++)
          {
           inFile >> array [i];
             if (array[i]==array[i+1])
              {
               igual++;
              }
             else 
              {  
               outFile << array [i] << " " << igual <<"R"<< endl;
               igual=0;        
            }
          } 
           i++;            
     }    
     inFile.close();
     outFile.close();
     return 0;
}

But the output is:
6 0R
5 0R
4 0R
4 0R
7 0R
5 0R
6 0R
6 0R
6 0R
6 0R
1 0R
6 0R
5 0R
4 1R
7 0R
5 0R
6 3R
1 0R

Where the bolt values are what I want, but how can I get reed of the first zeros?
What am I doing wrong?

Thanks a lot for your help, in advance!

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

For what purpose are you using array? Although you're starting out learning C++, you might want to consider using a set from the STL. (C++ Standard Template Library).

Your code appears to be assigning and comparing in array a lot more times than you have to. Or, if you want to use an array type, then search the array each time through to see if you've already seen that value.

You are reading one number at a time into the array from input file and comparing it to the next, which has not been read from the file yet (line 20). That's why your counter always stays at zero, content of array[i+1] is random.