Hi

Thanks in advance for any assistance with this side project of mine.

The hospital I work for wants to improve patient interaction with a laboratory blood draw station by taking them from a crowded cooridor to a more comfortable waiting room.

The idea is to hire a greeter who will enter the patient's name and destination (more than 1 area draws patients from this room) and each destination will be able to bring up a screen showing the current list of waiting patients.

So far so good, but apparently I am the person responsible for programming and maintaining this little project once it's done and I am not an experienced programmer.

My concept was to create a simple database in Access2000 with limited interaction required from the greeter. He/She would simply type in the name on the form and the time in would be automatically provided.

Now I can get the reports to each area to display properly and everything else functions as I wish...except...

the most important function I need which is to update a record when a patient is called to remove them from the waiting list!

I have an update form in which the greeter would cycle through the current records and ideally, simply press the command button to insert a call time into the patient table and thereby remove themselves from the waiting list because I made the query only pull records whose "Call Time" field is null.

I know I need to use a recordset and update it, but I am not having much luck getting it to actually put the time into the record. My command button will put the time into the form field, but the records are not being updated.

Sorry for the wordiness, but I appreciate any guidance would be fan-freaking-tastic.

Thanks

BDH

Recommended Answers

All 18 Replies

More specific questions...

First do the Dim and Set declarations go into the procedure for the click event of my command button or should they be put in the declaration area?