I'm new to programming and we have a project in class asking us to have the user input a sentence then we need to find the character typed most in that sentence. I think I'm on the right track, but I'm getting a segmentation core dump while running the program.

The function I'm using looks like this:

void common(char * string, int x){
cout << "Enter a sentence no longer than " << (SIZE - 1) << " characters long." <<endl;
cin.getline(string,SIZE);

//Use ASCII Values to determine most common character
int a[255] = {0};
int i, mostCommon;

mostCommon = a[0];
i = 0;
for(i=0; &string != 0; i++)
{
    if (a[i] > mostCommon)
        {
            mostCommon = a[i];
            x = i;
        }
}
cout << "The most common letter in your sentence is " << (char)x << "." <<endl;
}

Any help or insight would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Jon

The main problem is that you have no idea what is going on because you have not put print statements std::cout<<"I am here"<<std::endl; in your code.

Next you have a character string that you call string. You actually pass the pointer to the first character. In a typical c-style character string the last character is zero.

Now how do you access those characters, that you have to do by addressing it by one of several methods: Let us do a quick summary:

You can use array addressing, e.g.

char* Str="this is some string";
std::cout<<"The  fourth letter is : "<<Str[3]<<std::endl;

Note that arrays are offset from zero, so Str[3] refers to the forth character.

you might decide to access them by doing a pointer offset. See that Str [in the example above] points to the first character in the string. To see that you can do this:

std::cout<<"The  first letter is : "<<*Str<<std::endl;
std::cout<<"The memory location of that letter is : "<<Str<<std::endl;

Not that the * operator is used [it is not multiply here... another confusing issue sorry], to indicate that the contents of the memory location are required.

Therefore you can do this: