Ok so I'm new at programming java(well not that new) but I do tend to hit a lot of wall and give up out of frustration. I need help. Can anyone suggest a book for beginners or something. I'm actually doing a computing course but I really don't wanna ask for help from some of the guys in my course (they think girls suck at programming). Really wanna prove emm wrong :). Ohh I don't mind tutoring :p thanks

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

I have to point out that this book is reference book which servers best for these "versed" in programming and may not be best reference for beginner. You may want to have look at Head First Java or Java - How To Program (Deitel&Deitel)

you can also look for the first post in this java forum, and you'll find there some very good resources. even free books, some really good, as I have heard people say. you should look and see what you like.

Ok thanks guys, will have a look at all you've mentioned. :)

I found an AP Computer Science A book extremely helpful. It takes the stance that you know nothing about programming. I got a 5 on the test so its fairly easy to learn and understand.

I suggest going to your local Barnes & Noble and looking in their reference section at Comp Sci AP books, or your other local book stores/Libraries as they tend to have a selection by multiple publishers with different layouts and so on.

A combination of this forum, a couple of books (I use Sams Teach yourself Java in 21 Days as my reference (don't think you can actually teach yourself Java in 21 days)), and youtube tutorials, like TheNewBostons Java tutorials will suit you well when learning java.

After knowing other programming languages such as Python I learned Java in under 21 days so it is possible :P. I do have to say this forum is probably one of the best resources you can use if you run into any problems.