Basically, I want to create a countdown timer. Which isn't hard. It's all over the web. BUT I would like to know how and what I would need for, when the timer reaches zero, the code commands a relay to close, allowing voltage to flow to something. Also, presetting the timer is a must and, if possible, checking for proper voltage going to the relay would be a HUGE plus. If the conditions aren't right, the program terminates and displays an error message explaining what went wrong.

I'm fairly new to C++ and am trying to learn everything correctly, but haven't been able to find any answers. I know this idea sounds crazy, but it's for a school project and I'd love to be able to figure it out.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Edit: If the countdown timer could be displayed on a digital displays screen, instead of just in the program, that would be HUGE points for me. I know I'm gonna need to use some sort of serial port connection, a microcontroller (I think) and who-knows-what-else. If anybody could help, as well as point out the hardware I'd need to accomplish this, it would be a lifesaver.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Hey, I do something similar for work. I use a DLP-IOR4 board to bridge connections. It's USB attached and utilises a virtual com port.
It's very easy to use, just two simple commands fired down the serial port.

http://www.dlpdesign.com/usb/ior4.shtml

There are other more powerful and better rated models, choose the right one for your circuit =)

commented: Good suggestion. +14

I noticed that this is "latched". I need the relay to be "open" (no power going through it, and then "Close" on command to complete the circuit. Also, it is possible to hook up an external supply of power to this? What my computer can put out through the USB isn't gonna be enough.