Hey guys,
I am posting here for the first time, so please be gentle with me :P. I have an assignment of storing a text file in two arrays (one contains both char and int, whereas the other contains just numbers. The text file looks something like this:

Time 2 3 35
Sub 16 85 0 49

Since I am new to programming (not really: Studied structures five years ago), I am having difficulty storing this data into the array. The only thing which I was able to do was to read the data and display it on the screen. Can anyone please help me with the writing part please?

My code looks something like this:

#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>
#include <string>
using namespace std;

int main () {
  string line;
  char myarray[200];
  char index=0;
  ifstream myfile ("file.txt");
  if (myfile.is_open())
  {
    while (! myfile.eof() )
    {
      getline (myfile,line);
      cin>> line;
    }
    myfile.close();
  }

else cout << "Unable to open file";

return 0;
}

Any help would be appreciated.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

What does the file represent? You can certainly break the parts into an array, but a better approach would be to create a record structure with some sort of application-specific abstraction.

Okay. My main objective is to design a circuit simulator using C++. One of the sub-tasks is to create two arrays and store gate information in one array (what drives the gate, gate drives what?, what type of gate is driven). The second array stores the 'nets(wires)' information. The text file looks like this (just a sample with random gates):

NOT 1 2
AND 3 5 6
INPUT 3 6 7 8
OUTPUT 4 9 11 23

Here the first or the first two integers are the input logic of the gate. The second/third value is the output.
What I am planning to do is something like this:

1. Read the data from the text file.
2. Write the data in two separate arrays.
3. In the first array, the size would be the number of nets, and the information would be the logic value on the net.