Hello everyone! I need to anticipate that I am very new to the Microsoft developing world, therefore I am not confident with Visual Studio.

I need to write an application for a windows server that works with excel. Looking on the web I found that the best method would be to use Microsoft.Office.Interop.Excel.
Therefore i put the using Microsoft.Office.Interop.Excel; line at the beginning of the code and, when comiling I told csc the reference using /r:Microsoft.Office.Interop.Excel.dll . The problem is that the compiler tells me that the metafile Microsoft.Office.Interop.Excel can't be found.

How can I proceed with this?
Thanks in advance!

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Here's some code I wrote to get data from an excel file... To add the reference go to Project->Add Reference then find Microsoft.Office.Interop.Excel under the .Net tab. Note I think you need to have excel (or maybe just any office product) installed in order for this reference to be available.

using System;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using System.Text;
using Microsoft.Office.Core;
using Microsoft.Office.Interop.Excel;
using System.Data.OleDb;
using System.Threading;

namespace MobileExcelDB
{
    public class ExcelFile
    {
        public delegate void delProgUpdate(double dProgress);
        public delegate void delLoadComplete();

public event delProgUpdate ProgressUpdate;
        public event delLoadComplete LoadComplete;

string _Path;
        const int MAX_ROW = 100;
        const int MAX_COL = 100;
        public string[,] Data = new string[MAX_ROW,MAX_COL];
        public double Progress { get; private set; }

public ExcelFile(string sPath)
        {
            _Path = sPath;
        }
        public void LoadFile()
        {
            Thread doExcelLoad = new Thread(new ParameterizedThreadStart(DoLoad));
            doExcelLoad.Start(_Path);
        }
        private void DoLoad(object sPath)
        {
            ApplicationClass excelApp = new ApplicationClass();