i have been trying in vain to implement fibonacci in prolog, and so far i've done that in c++,javascript,python and java. but it just irritates me since i'm new to prolog and i just can't code much, because i haven't seen the prolog equivalents of c++'s for loops,if-else statements,basic variable usage etc.. but still i learnt whatever i could from 4-5 books i downloaded off the net, a few university lecture notes,etc.

here's my code to print N elements of the fibonacci series ( here N means excluding the first two basic elements of the series, 0,1.

start:-

write('Enter n '),nl,
        read(N),
	write('0 1'), %printing first two necessary numbers of the series
	fib(N,0,1).

% so i'm reading N, the no of elements of the fibonacci series the user would like to %print, 

fib(N,A,B):- % A and B are the n-2 and n-1 that add up to give n, 
	N>1,
	C = A+B,
	B = C,
	A = B,
	write(C),nl,
	X is N-1,
	fib(X,A,B).  % i directly put N-1 as the first argument in previous versions..would that create problems?

also i tried to do it this way too:

fib(0, 0, A):-!.
fib(1, 1, A):-!.

fib(N, X, A):-
	N1 is N-1,
	N2 is N-2,

fib(N1, X1,1),
        fib(N2, X2,0),

X is X1+X2.

display(X,A).

display(X,A):-
	A==1,
	write(X),nl.

the A argument in display is a flag. it means, whenever the brancing happens from N-1 side of the recursion, the sum will be printed then only.. otherwise it will print like this: 1 2 1 3 1 5 etc

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

well i could print the nth term, that was done by the second method i wrote, obviously without that 'display' predicate ,which i added to print all the terms upto nth element - which is what i want to do here. print all the fibonacci numbers upto the nth term