Hey, im new to C++ forums and C++ for that matter.
Im 16 years old and want to be a game developer so i made a calculator it took about 30min(a while i know but im a beginner) can someone tell me if what ive done is good code or is it really bad, i dont want to learn bad habits I decided to use a switch because i thought it would fit perfectly for such a basic calculator.

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main ()
{
    int equation;
    int number1;
    int number2;
    int answer;
    cout << "Calculator v1" << endl;
    cout << "Choose an equation [1=add][2=subtract][3=divide][4=multiply]: ";
    cin >> equation;
    cout << "Enter first number: ";
    cin >> number1;
    cout << "Enter second number: ";
    cin >> number2;

switch (equation){
      case 1://addition
        answer = number1 + number2;
        cout << number1 << " + " << number2 << " = " << answer << endl;
        break;
      case 2://subtraction
        answer = number1 - number2;
        cout << number1 << " - " << number2 << " = " << answer << endl;
        break;
      case 3://division
        answer = number1 / number2;
        cout << number1 << " / " << number2 << " = " << answer << endl;
        break;
      case 4://multiplication
        answer = number1 * number2;
        cout << number1 << " x " << number2 << " = " << answer << endl;
        break;
      default:
        equation, number1, number2, answer = 0;
        cout << "Math Error";
        }
    return 0;
}

Please post advice and let me know how i did,
Thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 22 Replies

anyone?

Don't be so anxious. This is a Forum of volunteers, not a 24-7 teaching site.

Your formatting looks very good. I'd add a few more comments explaining what's happening. And the comments you have IMO should be more like:

case 2:                   //subtraction

Next, change the program to to print the answer with one print instead of 4.